Resources

Stocksy_txpa090ae1eSII000_Small_509905

“Knowledge is power.”

Here you will find helpful links to websites, information centres, phone help lines or articles that are beneficial to young mothers in Australia. It will be updated regularly.

Support
Health
Education (studying, working or training)
Domestic Violence
Women’s Shelters
Finances/ Income Support
Pregnancy Counselling
Legal
Parenting
Perinatal Depression
Positive Thinking
Blogs


Support

Single Mum – Australia’s largest support website for single and divorced Mums: www.singlemum.com.au

National council for single mothers and their children – http://www.ncsmc.org.au

Relationships – One of the leading providers of relationship support services for individuals, families and communities. They also offer services around the country that include counseling and family dispute resolution (mediation) among many others. www.relationships.org.au

Kids Help Line – A free 24hour counseling service for young people aged 5-25 years. Phone: 1800 55 1800 – www.kidshelp.com.au

Lifeline Australia – A national charity providing all Australians experiencing a personal crisis with access to 24 hour crisis support and suicide prevention services. Phone: 13 11 14 – www.lifeline.org.au

ASCA (Adults surviving child abuse) – A service to adult survivors, their friends and family and the health care professionals who support them. Phone: 1300 657 380 – www.asca.org.au

Australian Childhood Foundation – counselling for children and young people affected by abuse: 1800 176 453 – www.childhood.org.au and www.stopchildabuse.com.au

Translating & Interpreting Service – A free phone service to gain access to an interpreter in your own language: 131 450


Health

Sex Education – http://www.sexeducationaustralia.com.au

Notifying sexual partners anonymously if you have a sexually transmitted infection – www.letthemknow.org

Nutrition Australia – http://www.nutritionaustralia.org/national/resource/healthy-eating-during-pregnancy

Diet During Breast Feeding – http://www.babycenter.com.au/a3565/diet-for-a-healthy-breastfeeding-mum

Nutrition for babies 3-12 months old – http://www.ngala.com.au/You-and-Your-Family/Babies-3-12-months/About-Nutrition-for-Babies-3-12-months

Quitting smoking – http://www.quitnow.gov.au/internet/quitnow/publishing.nsf/Content/home

Quitting drugs – http://australia.gov.au/topics/health-and-safety/drug-and-alcohol-use and http://www.adin.com.au/help-support-services

Pregnancy & exercise – http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Pregnancy_and_exercise


Education (studying, working or training)

Job Outlook Quiz- http://joboutlook.gov.au/pages/careerquiz.aspx

My Future – http://www.myfuture.edu.au/

Australian Apprenticeships Pathways – http://www.aapathways.com.au/Career-Resources/Practice-Aptitude-Quizzes

Universities Australia – https://www.universitiesaustralia.edu.au/

TAFE Australia – www.tda.edu.au

Vocational and educational training Australia – http://australia.gov.au/topics/education-and-training/vocational-education-and-training

Fairwork ombudsman Australia – An information gateway to information and advice about Australia’s workplace rights and rules, including awards and national employment standards: www.fairwork.gov.au

Finding the right pay for your industry – http://www.fairwork.gov.au/pay/finding-the-right-pay/pages/default.aspx

Parental Leave information – http://www.fairwork.gov.au/leave/parental-leave/pages/paid-parental-leave.aspx

Australian Apprenticeships – www.australianapprenticeships.gov.au


Domestic Violence 

In the event of a domestic or family violence situation, phone 000 immediately

National Sexual assault, Family & Domestic Violence Counselling Line; 24 hr phone line 1800-RESPECT or 1800 737 732 – www.1800respect.org.au

The Salvation Army – Domestic Violence Support options; 24 hour Salvos Care phone line: 1300 36 36 22

http://salvos.org.au/need-help/refuge-and-accommodation/domestic-violence-support-options.php

Human Services: www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/subjects/domestic-and-family-violence

Wesnet: a national women’s peak advocacy body which works on behalf of women & children who are experiencing or have experienced domestic or family violence: www.wesnet.org.au

White Ribbon: Australia’s campaign to stop violence against women: www.whiteribbon.org.au

Australian Capital Territory

Domestic Violence Crisis Service: 02 6280 0900

Rape Crisis Centre (24 Hours) 02 6247 2525

New South Wales

Domestic Violence Line: 1800 65 64 63

Rape Crisis Service: 1800 424 017

Interrelate Family Centres: 1300 736 966

Family & Community Services, Women: www.domesticviolence.nsw.gov.au/home

Domestic violence support, Western Sydney Service: www.dvswss.com.au

Northern Territory

Domestic Violence Crisis Line: 1800 019 116

Sexual Assault Referral Centre: 08 8922 6472

Queensland

Domestic Violence Telephone Service: 1800 811 811

Sexual Assault Help Line: 1800 010 120

South Australia

Domestic Violence Helpline: 1300 782 200

Yarrow Place Sexual Assault Service: 1800 817 421

Tasmania

Family Violence Counselling and Support Service: 1800 608 122

Family Violence Response & Referral: 1800 633 937

Sexual Assault Support Service: 03 6231 1817

Victoria

Women’s Domestic Violence Crisis Service of Victoria: 1800 015 188 or (03) 9322 3555

Sexual Assault Crisis Line: 1800 806 292

Domestic Violence Resource Centre, Victoria: www.dvrcv.org.au

Western Australia

Women’s Domestic Violence Helpline: 08 9223 1188/ 1800 007 339

Crisis Care: 1800 199 00808 or 9233 1111

Sexual Assault Res. Centre: 08 9340 1828 or 1800 199 888


Women’s Shelters

New South Wales 

Shelter NSW – http://www.shelternsw.org.au/need-help

Housing NSW – http://www.housing.nsw.gov.au/Help+with+Housing/Homelessness/Domestic+Violence+and+Homelessness.htm

St Vincent De Paul – https://www.vinnies.org.au/page/Find_Help/NSW/Domestic_and_family_violence/Crisis_Accomodation_For_Women_and_Children_Escaping_Domestic_Violence/

Coast Shelter – http://coastshelter.org.au/

Manly Women’s Shelter – http://www.manlywomensshelter.org.au/

The Salvation Army – http://salvos.org.au/need-help/accommodation-and-refuge/ 

Queensland

The Salvation Army – http://salvos.org.au/need-help/accommodation-and-refuge/

Brisbane Community Directory – http://www.mycommunitydirectory.com.au/Queensland/Brisbane/Accommodation_Services/Crisis___Emergency_Accommodation/

Ruth’s Women’s Shelter – http://www.ruthswomensshelter.com.au/

Qld Govt. Emergency Housing – https://www.qld.gov.au/housing/emergency-temporary-accommodation/emergency-accommodation/

Mary & Martha’s Refuge – http://lccqld.org.au/community-services-family-support-mary

Victoria

Young Women’s Crisis Service – http://www.melbournecitymission.org.au/services/program-detail/young-women’s-crisis-service

Crisis Help Network – http://www.melbourne.homeless.org.au/womens.html

WIRE – http://www.wire.org.au/

Women’s Housing – http://www.womenshousing.com.au/

Western Australia

Women’s Refuges – http://www.womenscouncil.com.au/womens-refuges.html

Shelter WA Housing Options Kit- http://www.shelterwa.org.au/housing_options_kit/useful-links-and-resources/ 

RUAH – http://www.ruah.com.au/services/housing-homelessness/ 

The Patricia Giles Centre – http://patgilescentre.org.au/what-we-do/accommodation/

Zonta House – http://zontahouse.org.au/

Midland Women’s Health Care Place – http://www.mwhcp.org.au/links/emergency-accommodation/

South Australia

Emergency Shelter & Homelessness – https://www.sa.gov.au/topics/housing-property-and-land/housing/emergency-shelter-and-homelessness 

Junction & Women’s Housing – http://womenshousing.org.au/jwh-our-history

The Salvation Army, Bramwell House – https://www.salvationarmy.org.au/Find-Us/South-Australia/BramwellHouse/

Centacare – http://www.centacare.org.au/OurServices/DomesticViolenceandHomelessness.aspx

Migrant Women’s Services – http://www.migrantwomensservices.com.au/index.wt1

Australian Capital Territory

The Salvation Army – http://salvos.org.au/need-help/accommodation-and-refuge/ 

Beryl Women – http://www.beryl.org.au/

ACT Community Services – http://www.communityservices.act.gov.au/women/womens_directory/womens_refuges_and_crisis_accommodation

Canberra Community – http://www.contactcanberra.org.au/content/view/34/32/

Toora Women – http://www.toora.org.au/

Tasmania

Hobart Women’s Shelter – http://www.hobartwomensshelter.org.au/

Shelter Tasmania – http://www.sheltertas.org.au/emergency/south.html 

Northern Territory

Dawn House – http://www.dawnhouse.org.au/

Shelter Me – http://shelterme.org.au/


Finances/ Income Support

Centrelink – www.humanservices.gov.au

Australian Tax Office – www.ato.gov.au

Money Smart – https://www.moneysmart.gov.au/tools-and-resources/calculators-and-apps/budget-planner


Pregnancy Counselling

Birthline (Pregnancy Support) 24 hr information & advisory service – www.birthline.org.au – 1300 139 313

Pregnancy Support – www.pregnancysupport.com.au

Pregnancy Support Helplines – 1300 792 798 (QLD, NSW, VIC, ACT)

1300 655 156 (WA, SA, TAS, NT)

Pregnancy Counselling Link – www.pcl.org.au – 1800 777 690

VIC specific but good information on termination options – http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/bhcarticles.nsf/pages/Abortion_in_Australia

QLD specific but a good resource for information – http://www.childrenbychoice.org.au


Legal

Legal Aid – find free or cheap legal aid services (click links specific to your state): http://australia.gov.au/topics/law-and-justice/legal-services/legal-aid

Family Law Courts – www.familylawcourts.gov.au

Family Law Matters – A free information resource & referral service in the event of separation or divorce (including child custody issues): www.familylawmattersaustralia.com.au

The Family Court of Australia – www.familycourt.gov.au

Relationships Australia, family dispute resolution – http://www.relationships.org.au/what-we-do/services/family-dispute-resolution

Sex discrimination (including pregnancy and breastfeeding) – http://www.humanrights.gov.au/publications/know-your-rights-sex-discrimination-and-sexual-harassment

Women’s Law Centre (in W.A) – http://www.wlcwa.org.au/


Parenting

Raising Children – www.raisingchildren.net.au

Kidspot – www.kidspot.com.au

Essential Baby – www.essentialbaby.com.au

Bub Hub – www.bubhub.com.au

Parenting Australia – www.parentingaustralia.com.au

Ngala – www.ngala.com.au

Australian Breastfeeding Association – www.breastfeeding.asn.au


Perinatal Depression

Parent Infant Research Institute – www.piri.org.au

Free online program to help Mums overcome Postnatal Depression – www.mummoodbooster.com and www.facebook.com/MumMoodBooster

Young people surviving pregnancy & parenting together – www.ivebeenthere.org.au

Post & Antenatal Depression Association – www.panda.org.au

Lifeline – 13 11 14 – 24hr Telephone Crisis Support

24 Hour Mental Health Line – 1800 011 511

Beyondblue Lifeline Support – 1300 224 636 24 hours a day, 7 days a week or Chat Online

Parent Line – 1300 30 1300


Positive Thinking

www.calm.com One of the calmest places on the internet. Tune in here for some meditation. You can choose guided meditation or do your own thing and there are different timed options.

www.westophate.org An online platform dedicated to raising self esteem in teens. Based in the states, it still has universal appeal with their ethos and belief that happy people don’t put others down. It’s a call to stop hating in all forms; stop hating on yourself, stop hating on others, stop letting others hate on you.

www.cuteroulette.com A collection of the cutest animal videos on the net.

www.1000awesomethings.com A daily dose of the little (and big) things that reminds us of all the awesomeness that does exist in this world.

www.thenicestplaceontheinter.net Having a bad day? Sometimes a little pick me up from cyber land is nice. Receive a virtual hug from a stranger (no live streaming, all pre recorded). Keep scrolling through the videos to put a smile on your face.


Blogs

(For young mothers):

Early Mama – www.earlymama.com

The Young Moms Club – http://youngmomsclub.com/

Tiny Blue Lines – http://tinybluelines.com/

The Young Mummy – http://theyoungmummy.wordpress.com/

The Young Mommy Life – http://www.theyoungmommylife.com/